Mattie’s Wing

From the title you might wonder, “What is Richard talking about?” Could it be some kind of crazy Scottish snow bird and Richard has chosen to only point out it’s appendage of flight? I did not see it in the fresh snow that peppered my credit card sized lawn this morning as I awoke. I saw Mattie’s Wing last night at the Tuesday club.

 We have had new visitors joining every week since Mary and I arrived back from the States, and last night was no exception. Kieran (age 12) came running into the club as if he had known everyone his whole life! With a smile on his face the entire time, he would go up to his peers and introduce himself without any pretenses. Kieran is our next-door-neighbour’s grandson and he is truly one of a kind! You see, Kieran has autism and his grandmother (Irene) tells me he doesn’t have any friends. She told me she would bring him to the club and last night she did. Both she and I wondered how he would manage and more importantly, how the other children would manage with Kieran. Let me tell you, last night our concerns were laid to rest!

I saw what seemed like a miracle in the reaction of the other kids to Kieran. One boy (Mattie, age 11) had a bewildered look on his face as Kieran introduced himself in his own special way. He glanced at me as if to say, “Is this kid for real?” I informed him of Kieran’s relation to me and his disposition.

I saw the wing!

A side of Mattie I have never seen before. Prior to this meeting, Mattie seemed to always keep to his own select friends and I never saw him “step up” into any leadership role within the club. Mattie took me aside and asked me, “Can I help Kieran tonight and show him the ropes?” I was amazed and I sat and watched Mattie explaining to Kieran the “ins and outs” of all our activities! At the end of the night we have tuck shop (snacks for the kids). Mattie asked me if I could make sure Kieran sat next to him during this time. Mattie completely took Kieran under his wing, and I heard so many of the kids explain how much they enjoyed Kieran in the club.

I wonder if he would have been as well received if it weren’t for Mattie’s Wing.

“But Jesus said,“Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven” (Matt 19:14).

~ by harphouse on March 9, 2011.

One Response to “Mattie’s Wing”

  1. Richard, call me a softy, but this story brought a tear to my eye. The wisdom and love of children. No wonder Jesus said, “Of such is the kingdom of Heaven.”

Leave a Reply

 
